Thursday, November 09, 2006

Democrats Take Congress: CBC Heads Major Committees

Congressional Black Caucus members John Conyers (D-Mich) will be chair of the Judiciary Committee, Charles Rangel (D-NY) will chair the Wsys & Means Committee, Bennie Thompson (D-Miss) will chair the Homeland Security Committee, Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-Calif) will chair the House Administration Committee and Alcee Hastins (D-Fl) will chair the House Intelligence Committee.

Senator Barack Obama is on the Senate Environment & Public Works Committee, where Barbara Boxer (D-CA) will replace James Inhofe (R-OK) as chairman. Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) will chair Senate Energy & Natural Resources. John Dingell (D-Mich) will chair the House Energy & Commerce Committee and Nick Rahall (DWV) will chair the House Resources Committee.

The CBC lost the Harold Ford (D-TN) seat. New CBC members include: Hank Johnson (D-GA), Keith Ellison (D-MN), and Yvette Clark (D-NY). Johnson replaced Cynthia McKinney and Clark replaced Major Owens. With the loss of Ford and the gain of Clark, the total number of CBC members remains the same at 41. Keith Ellion is the nation's first Muslim member of Congress. (The Afro American Newspapers)

No comments: