Wednesday, May 05, 2010

Senate Nuclear Subcommittee Holds Hearing on NRC

Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety

Hearing entitled, "Oversight Hearing: Nuclear Regulatory Commission."

Senator Thomas R. Carper (D-DE), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, held an oversight hearing to examine the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s (NRC) guidelines and processes for licensing new reactors and regulating the current nuclear fleet.
Bill Magwood, Derry Bigby
Bill Magwood, Norris McDonald

AAEA President Norris McDonald and AAEA Vice President Derry Bigby attended the hearing and engaged NRC commissioners after the hearing.

AAEA supported the nominations of Bill Magwood and George Apostolakis. The Center is delighted to report that both commissioners are friendly and approachable. This is important to stakeholders interested in providing input on nuclear power issues that are of interest to the NRC and the general public.

George Apostolakis, Norris McDonald

(NRC Chairman Gregory Jaczko with reporters in background)


Opening Remarks

Panel 1

The Honorable Gregory B. Jaczko Chairman, NRC
The Honorable Kristine L. Svinicki Commissioner, NRC
The Honorable George Apostolakis Commissioner, NRC
The Honorable William D. Magwood IV Commissioner, NRC
The Honorable William C. Ostendorff Commissioner,

Panel 2

Dr. Richard A. (Dick) Meserve President, Carnegie Institution for Science (Former NRC Commissioner)
Dr. Peter A. Bradford Adjunct Professor, Institute for Energy and the Environment, Vermont Law School (Former NRC Commissioner)
Dr. K.P. (Kris) Singh President and CEO Holtec International
Mr. George Vanderheyden President and CEO UniStar Nuclear Energy, LLC

(Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety hearing entitled, "Oversight Hearing: Nuclear Regulatory Commission.")

No comments: