Saturday, December 02, 2006

Maryland Senate Environmental Committee Chairwoman

Maryland Senate President Mike Miller has made an excellent selection in appointing Joan Carter Conway, right, as the new Chair of the Education, Health & Environmental Affairs Committee. AAEA President Norris McDonald served on the Maryland Advisory Council on Environmental Justice with Senator Conway and she distinguished herself on that panel. She is a visionary with a commitment to promoting practical solutions to problems. Senator Conway has vast experience and has held a number of important position during her career.

A selected list of her service and appointments include, member of Senate since January 8, 1997. Vice-Chair, Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, 2003- 2006. Wetlands and Waterways Funding Work Group, 2004; Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-06; Senate Special Commission on Electric Utility Deregulation Implementation, 2005-06. Secretary, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland (formerly Maryland Legislative Black Caucus), 1998- 2006. Member, Advisory Council on Environmental Justice, 1997-99; Task Force on Indoor Air Quality, 2001-02; Member, Israel Baptist Church. Married; one son; two grandchildren.

No comments: