Thursday, June 14, 2007

Changes at the Congressional Black Caucus

There are 42 members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) with two nonvoting members. Congresswoman Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick, right, is Chairwoman.

Harold Ford, Jr. lost his race for the U.S. Senate. Major Owens retired and was replaced by Yvette Clarke. Cynthia McKinney was defeated by Hank Johnson.

Keith Ellison joined the CBC from Minnesota as the only Muslim member of Congress.

Juanita Millender-McDonald died on April 22, 2007. Her seat is currently (6-13-07) vacant, pending a special election. The primary will be held on June 26.

No comments: