Wednesday, March 05, 2008

AAEA, NAACP & Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi

PRESIDENT'S CORNER. By Norris McDonald. The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Washington, D.C. Branch had a wonderful Freedom Fund Dinner tonight. DC Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton opened the presentation of awards. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, above right, was the Honorary Chair of the event and a Presidential Award Recipient. House Majority Whip James Clyburn was honored as a Barrier Breaker along with:

  • Lorraine C. Miller, Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Congresswoman, Florida
  • LTG Michael Rochelle, Deputy Chief of Staff, U.S. Army
  • Lorenzo Creighton, President MGM Mirage
  • Ernest G. Green, Little Rock Nine
  • Matthew Fogg, U.S. Marshall, Department of Justice
Barrier Breaker Sponsors included Verizon, Altria, The Coca Cola Company, Goldman Sachs, Fannie Mae, PhRMA, Honeywell, Pfizer, and numerous churches.

AAEA worked with Matthew Fogg to help get the NO FEAR ACT passed. Mr. Fogg is a whistleblower and won a multimillion judgment against the U.S. Marshall's Service. AAEA also supports Speaker Pelosi's Greening the Capitol program. The recommendations in the preliminary report include (More):

  • Operate the House in a Carbon Neutral Manner
  • Shift to 100 percent Renewable Electric Power
  • Aggressively Improve Energy Efficiency
  • Adoption of Sustainable Business Practices
  • Continued Leadership on Sustainability Issues
  • Offsets to Ensure Carbon Neutral Operations
Special thanks to Brazile & Associates and Verizon. (Photo: AAEA President Norris McDonald & Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi)

No comments: